

201 Chicago Avenue Minneapolis, Minnesota 55415

> Tel: (612) 928-6100 Fax: (612) 454-2744

> > AAN.com

PresidentCarlayne E. Jackson, MD, FAAN
San Antonio, Texas

President Elect

Natalia S. Rost, MD, MPH, FAAN, FAHA Boston, Massachusetts

Vice President

Janis M. Miyasaki, MD, MEd, FRCPC, FAAN Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

Secretary

Sarah M. Benish, MD, FAAN Minneapolis, Minnesota

Treasurer

Charles C. Flippen II, MD, FAAN Los Angeles, California

Immediate Past President

Orly Avitzur, MD, MBA, FAAN Tarrytown, New York

Directors

Wayne E. Anderson, DO, FAHS, FAAN San Francisco, California

Jennifer Bickel, MD, FAAN Tampa, Florida

Bruce H. Cohen, MD, FAAN Chair, Advocacy Committee Akron, Ohio

Gregory J. Esper, MD, MBA, FAAN Atlanta, Georgia

Larry B. Goldstein, MD, FAAN, FAHA Lexington, Kentucky

Lily Jung Henson, MD, MMM, FAAN Stockbridge, Georgia

Shannon M. Kilgore, MD, FAAN *Palo Alto, California*

Brad C. Klein, MD, MBA, FAAN

Chair, Medical Economics

and Practice Committee

Abington, Pennsylvania

Jeffrey C. McClean II, MD, FAAN San Antonio, Texas

José G. Merino, MD, MPhil, FAHA, FAAN Editor-in-Chief, Neurology® Washington, DC

Nimish A. Mohile, MD, FAAN Chair, Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee Rochester. New York

> Bruce I. Ovbiagele, MD, MSc, MAS, MBA, MLS, FAAN San Francisco, California

> > José H. Posas, MD, FAAN New Orleans, Louisiana

Maisha T. Robinson, MD, MSHPM, FAAN Chair, Member Engagement Committee Jacksonville, Florida

> Non-voting Board Member Mary E. Post, MBA, CAE Chief Executive Officer Minneapolis. Minnesota

December 19, 2023

The Honorable Greg Murphy U.S. House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Danny Davis U.S. House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Brad Wenstrup U.S. House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Jimmy Panetta U.S. House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Larry Bucshon U.S. House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Michael Burgess U.S. House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

Representatives Murphy, Davis, Wenstrup, Panetta, Bucshon, and Burgess,

The American Academy of Neurology (AAN) is the world's largest neurology specialty society representing more than 40,000 neurologists, clinical neuroscience professionals, and students. The AAN is dedicated to promoting the highest quality patient-centered neurologic care. A neurologist is a physician with specialized training in diagnosing, treating, and managing disorders of the brain and nervous system. These disorders affect one in six people and include conditions such as multiple sclerosis (MS), Alzheimer's disease, Parkinson's disease, stroke, migraine, epilepsy, traumatic brain injury, ALS, and peripheral neuropathy.

The AAN writes to express our strong support of H.R. 6683, the Preserving Seniors' Access to Physicians Act of 2023. This bill would completely eliminate the 3.37 percent cuts to Medicare physician payment that go into effect on January 1, 2024. This relief is so important to our members, who are already struggling to maintain their practices in the face of inflationary pressure.

As you know, year after year, cuts to Medicare reimbursement threaten Neurology patients' access to care. This year, the specialty is facing an impending 3.37% reduction due to budget neutrality requirements in the Medicare Physician Fee Schedule (MPFS). If Congress does not manage to avert this year's cuts, Medicare payments will have decreased by nearly 10% over the past four years, highlighting the ongoing flaws with the current payment structure.

These cuts are exacerbated by the fact that physicians have the only fee schedule in Medicare that does not have an automatic inflationary adjustment. The MPFS has not had an adjustment for inflation in nearly twenty years. When you take that into account, physicians have actually seen an overall decline in pay of 26 percent from 2001 to 2023.

This bill will ensure that neurologists have financial stability in 2024 and can continue to provide quality neurologic care to seniors across the country. The AAN

looks forward to working with you to pass the Preserving Seniors' Access to Physicians Act and to continue reforming the Medicare physician payment system. If you have any questions, please don't hesitate to contact Max Goldman, Director of Congressional Affairs, at mgoldman@aan.com. We are truly thankful for your efforts.

Sincerely,

Carlayne E. Jackson, MD, FAAN

President, American Academy of Neurology

Carlayne Jockson